Posted by: nmontague | September 1, 2010

Faith Procedes the Miracle

I’ve been thinking a lot about the events of the past weekend, particularly my own experiences. I’m remembering the kind acts of service I saw.  It’s been making me think a lot about God and the Spiritual side of things. About coming closer to God and seeking His hand of Providence in my life. And I think there are a lot of people who truly misunderstand the Spiritual side of life and the power that is in it.

I am not talking about people using empty rhetoric to get fame, power, money whatever. But genuine spirituality. When people actively search for God in their lives. Maybe you’ve had Spiritual experiences. Maybe not. Maybe you already believe in God. Maybe you don’t have any idea whether there is a God or if there is who He is. It doesn’t matter where we are on our journey. I think it’s time we looked to God more. and Faith in God.

Faith is more than just belief in God. Anyone can believe in God. James said that “Even the devils believe”. Faith is a principle of power. It’s a belief that leads to action. We don’t have real faith in God unless it drives us to act. The primary action of Faith is Repentence. Which is a change of heart. A change of direction. We do different things. We think differently. Our hearts are geniunely changed.

When we have true faith, we can be calm in the sea of turmoil. We will see miracles when we are up against a wall and think there is absolutely nothing we can do to deal with a situation. You can tell when you have faith because you will be closer to God and you will have joy in your life. A happiness so deep that it brings you down in humility and thankfulness. It’s something that is near indescribable.

Confusion disappears, doubt departs, fear is replaced with courage and you become someone completely new.

We all need to evaluate our own lives and ask if we have faith. Real faith. Do we have strong enough faith? Do we believe in miracles? I don’t mean go sign seeking, but are we confident that miracles can and do happen? Do we trust God enough to give Him our worries and concerns, our pains and gratitude?

Now, I hope I haven’t scared anyone. Especially those who might not know whether there is a God or not. Because I can promise you that you can know Him too if you desire to. Everyone can. The key is to sincerely and humbly seek. My favorite expression of that is to “Experiment on the Word.” Do His will and you will know whether it’s from God or not. Pray. Fast. Search Him out in scriptures. Look at all sides. Test all things. Sometimes the only way to test something is to do it yourself. You want to know whether you should be honest, then be honest. Try it out. If you want to know if you should be chaste, then try it out and be chaste. The key is to act in faith.

We live in a day of miracles. They are everywhere around us. And I promise you that if you live a life of faith, learning line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little, you will see many more miracles throughout your life. You will see the hand of God work for your good and the good of many others who you love.

Challenges:

1) Seek the truth in all things. Look at all sides. Even if you don’t necessarily like that side of things. Try to really understand things.

2) Pray. Seek God in sincere prayer.  Don’t just say something flippant and then claim you tried. You aren’t trying to impress anyone. You aren’t trying to prove something. You are just trying to get to know God. After all, how can you know someone if you don’t bother to try to talk to them? If you don’t seek them out? If you don’t seek out their words? If you don’t attempt to make a connection?

3) Act. If you are confused about something. Think it through then act on it. Act on it in faith. In this case, that means sometimes taking a step before you see everything. Do it. You’ll never regret it.

Responses

  1. You commented on my blog about how ignorant we still are about race. I’m more fustrated than angry about everything that has gone on. It just seemed so wrong in so many ways the way certain people who claim to be for civil rights wish to deny them to everyone. Why can’t a man who has faced his demons like Glenn Beck speak about Dr. Kings dream. We have been blessed with this great Nation by God and they still try to divide us all. I know that anger and frustration can build, God will see us all through this. God Bless.

    Blaine

  2. Do you think that Glenn Beck will be America’s next Billy Graham?

    • No. I don’t think that Glenn Beck will be America’s next Billy Graham. I think Glenn Beck is Glenn Beck. He’s a unique individual. He has to do what he thinks is best just like everyone else does.

      God can work through imperfect people. Even Glenn Beck. Even you, even me. That’s the beauty of God. None of us are worthless in His eyes.

      What I can tell you is that I do see the hand of God working on people. What the end result will be, I don’t know. I’m excited to see though.

      • Well, I don’t think that God is Love. I think God is God. God is a unique entity. God has to do what God thinks is best just like everyone else.

        Glenn Beck can work through imperfect conceptions of God. You and I have our own imperfect conceptions of God, and I suppose that is the beauty of God: every conception of God serves as a useful propaganda tool.

        What I can tell you is that I do see the hand of Glenn Beck working on people. What the end result will be, I don’t know. I’m excited to see though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

