Posted by: nmontague | September 8, 2010

Book Burning

About a month ago, I wrote a blog concering the Florida Pastor who was planning to lead a book burning of Qurans on 9/11 as a protest against Islam. If you read my blog, you understand how disgusted I am with this. The idea of destroying knowledge is anathema to me. It’s the height of rudeness to other people and completely foreign to the Gospel of Jesus Christ which I ascribe to. The Gospel of Jesus Christ is the Gospel of Reconciliation. Both between us and the Father and between us and our fellow man. Christ is attempting to gather us into one people who sees each other as brethren and not adversaries.

With this in mind, I emailed the Pastor of this Florida Church and exhorted him not to do this thing. I went to him with love. With a testimony of Jesus Christ. I was hoping that perhaps if I could write a positive message of reconciliation full of the Spirit of Truth, I might be able to help persuade him to change his course. Now, I don’t want people to think that I figured I, alone, could change his course. I know that’s not within my power to do, but God can do amazing things with simple acts, even an email.

I never recieved a response. I don’t know if my email was read. Whether it was ignored. Or whether there are so many emails that mine never had a chance. However, I still think more can be done to stop this. And considering the concerns for our troops overseas being expressed recently by General Petraeus, I think we need to do something. I have come up with an idea, but I need everyone who reads this to help.

Since one email was not enough. I was thinking we should send many emails. You can send them emails at http://www.doveworld.org/contact

However, any email you send has to be personal. It can’t be a form letter. It can’t be done out of anger. But with a spirit of reconciliation. We need to win them over, not with anger or threats, but with love, kindness, persuasion, long-suffering, brotherly kindness, truth, etc. Say a prayer before you write anything. Then just share the truth about the Gospel of Reconciliation. The need to reach out in love to our brethren of all faiths and not act in anger or in aggressive.

This group is doing a reprehensible thing, but they are not our enemies. They are our brothers. Every man on earth is our brother if we follow the admonitions of the Gospel.  We need to reconcile them with God so that they can reconcile others with God. We need to do what we can to keep our troops from being in more danger.

I believe that if we exercise faith, that we can make a difference. I don’t know what will happen, but I believe in miracles. Please do this, and invite any of your friends to do this in faith as well. The key is to share the love of God.

Hate drew a circle that shut me out,
Heretic, rebel, a thing to flout.
But Love and I had the wit to win,
We drew a circle that took him in. – Edwin Markam

Challenge:

1) Reach out to this group with love and faith

2) Recruit your friends to do the same

Editted: 3) Post a response if you do email them and let us know how it goes.

Responses

  1. Great idea. I enjoyed your blog as well.

    • Thank you. The Link to the email is no longer working. It looks like the web site is down. Keep trying everyone though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

