Posted by: nmontague | September 15, 2010

Some Tea Party political commentary

I am starting to think I should change my mind about not writing about politics, since I seem to do it so often.

Anyway, It was  the finaly big primary day across the country. My primary was months ago, but it’s interesting to see whats going on in other states. Particularly in Delaware where there has been a huge battle for the GOP nominations. The Endorsed candidate – Rep. Mike Castle lost tonight against the “Tea Party” candidate, Christine O’Donnell.  Apparently, the Republicans in Delaware didn’t like being told who they should run as a candidate. And the Delaware GOP establishment is not happy.

GOP Officials in Delaware as saying they won’t finance Ms. O’Donnell’s bid against. They say she has no chance to win. (Didn’t they say that about Obama and McCain in 2008?). It may be true. It may not. I don’t know. I don’t predict political campaigns.

But I think they may be underestimating the backlash against the establishment this year. I’ve been noticing a lot of discussions online about this campaign where people see that the GOP won’t be funding her, so they are planning to send her money. Some of the people are saying that they don’t have much, but they will still send her what they can.

And then of course, there is the conservative talk show effect. They’ve been mentioning this race the last few days. I’m confident they will be talking about it at some point tomorrow. After all, this is big news. What do you think is going to happen when the majority of listeners hear that the GOP won’t finance her campaign now? I think it’s quite possible you could have lots of money rolling into her coffers the next few days. Specifically because the establishment doesn’t want to finance her.

Personally, I think they should just do their jobs and finance their candidate. It’s not the candidate the establishment may have wanted, but people made their voice known and that’s the candidate they have to work with.

I don’t know what will happen, but it should be interesting to watch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

