Posted by: nmontague | October 11, 2010

What is your life worth?

I was going to write a different blog earlier, but I think this is more of the question on my mind. What is my life worth? I’m not asking this in some sort of depression. But all this reading of Gandhi has really gotten me thinking about the value of sacrifice as a principle.

Jesus said:

12 This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have love you.

 13 Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends (John 15:12-13)

Laying down one’s life for something or someone. Now that is intense. Gandhi was saying how it is better for us to lay down our life than to be violent against our neighbor. It’s just making me think about how we need to return good for evil if we ever intend to overcome evil. Do we really change hearts because of our suffering? Is that why the Atonement of Jesus Christ is so powerful? He can change hearts because of His self suffering?

But back to the question: What is your life worth? I have been asking whether Id be willing to risk my life for someone else or for something true. What would it really mean to live the sermon on the mount?

What does it mean to hold nothing back in love for God and others? What are you willing to die for? I am still trying to figure it out but id like to say love of my fellow man. my friends. my family. My faith. I don’t know though. Its easy to say something. Doing it is much more difficult especially when it involves something that might never happen. (if we are lucky).

But do you have the faith and love to lay down your life if needed for your fellow man? I think its something we need to ask ourselves.

Leave a Reply

Categories

