Posted by: nmontague | November 13, 2010

Forty days and Forty nights until Christmas

Starting November 15th it will be 40 days and 40 nights until Christmas. Since I felt like the last 40 day and 40 night challenge I did was successful, I figured this might be a good way to prepare for the holiday season, to remember the reason for it, and to change my life so it’s more dedicated to the Lord. So I may the following plan. Part of it comes from the original 40 day and 40 night challenge that Glenn Beck came up with. I’ve made some modifications and additions. I’ve also added a physical and health aspect because I haven’t been healthy lately. The body and the spirit are closely connected. I think I need to make real changes to my diet and activity level in order to ensure that I can grow to my greatest potential on the Spiritual side. Not to mention, I don’t particularly want to die anytime soon. Here’s my plan

40 days and 40 nights till Christmas – November 15th to December 24th

 Purpose: To change myself, my habits, my health and develop my character in the next 40 days until Christmas.

 This plan is my personal plan taken partially from the Glenn Beck 40 days and 40 nights challenge with addition action and modifications for my own personal benefit.

 Spiritual aspects:

Faith – Pray on my knees every night. Pray for inspiration, guidance, and peace. Pray for those I care about and those who may see themselves as my enemies. Pray for wisdom and for courage to do what is right. When I have a choice to make, make it based on faith rather than fear. Pray for help in the other goals of my challenge

Hope – Hope comes from Truth. Seek the truth. Develop stronger habits of honesty in my life. Ask questions and seek answers. Don’t rely on what others say but search it out myself. Honestly look at myself and address the areas in my life are bad, even if it’s painful to do. In order to receive truth, I need to be honest because light attracts light, truth attracts truth, love attracts love, etc. The more I have those characteristics, the more I can develop them. Acknowledge my blessing before God and man.

Charity – Do something kind (above and beyond my normal responsibilities) for each member of my family each week. Write them down so I can remember them and hold myself accountable. In addition, do something good for someone I don’t like so that I can lift them up a little higher.

Also, to be more charitable I should focus on how to resolve conflicts without violence. Limit the amount of violence I see on television, in video games, and hear in music. If there are any areas in my life that are unnecessarily adding to violence in my mind, eliminate them.

Physical aspects:

I believe that our physical bodies are an integral part of my spiritual life. My bad health limits my abilities to serve and do things to better myself and my community. It can also distract me from the promptings of the Holy Spirit. So I need to focus on changing my physical body so that I can better serve God and my fellow man.

Exercise:

  1. Cardio: 5-7 times a week. At least 15 minutes rain or shine. No excuses.
  2. Stretching: Start stretching daily, learn some yoga stretches and some other stretches.
  3. Weight training – Train – Monday, Wednesday, and Friday

Diet:

The most important change I need to make is to my diet. This is not a temporary diet. This is an attempt to change my diet forever. My rules for this diet:

  1. Eliminate junk food, particularly those with high carbohydrates.
  2. Add one new fruit and one new vegetable to my diet every week. (This is actual integration, not simply trying something new).
  3. Prepare smaller servings.
  4. Avoid eating later than 10 O’clock
  5. Do what I can to prepare meals in advance.
  6. 

Sleep:

  1. Train myself to wake up at 7am every day.
  2. Go to bed before 1am. (earlier is fine, just no later)
  3. 

Hygiene: Cleanliness is next to godliness. Work harder to keep myself clean.

Meditation:

  1. Learn to keep my body from moving and be still.
  2. Learn to quiet my mind.
  3. At least 15 mins a day.

By doing these things for the next 40 days and 40 nights, I will be acting in faith to grow as a child of God and preparing myself so that I can teach my children to do likewise someday.

Any comments? Advice?

Leave a Reply

Categories

