Posted by: nmontague | January 4, 2011

Disciplined faith

I’ve been reading a biography on Dietrich Bonhoffer called Bonhoffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy. The story of Dietrich Bonhoffer is an interesting one. He was one of the few pastors who saw Hitler and the Nazis for who they were from the beginning of the Third Reich and challenged them. He was later involved in assassination attempts on Hitler’s life.

I was reading a specific part about the Sermon on the Mount. It impressed me alot. More so than most. It’s interesting that both my studies of Gandhi and now of Bonhoffer have been turning me toward the Sermon on the Mount. And not just the parts about turning the other cheek. I just get this impression that I should focus my studies on it more. It’s one of the first sermons given by Christ in the New Testament. It’s one of the first sermons He gave to the Nephites in the Book of Mormon. Maybe the Lord is trying to tell us that this is important. I’m sad to admit that I’ve often glossed over it and not given it as much thought as I now think it deserves.

Even as I think about it, I am reminded of a quote  by General Omar Bradley :

“We have grasped the mystery of the atom and rejected the Sermon on the Mount. Ours is a world of nuclear giants and ethical infants. We know more about war than we know about peace, more about killing than we know about living.”

Needless to say, I think I need to study this sermon a bit more this year. and live it as well. I need to develop the faith to be a disciple of Christ. Maybe I can learn about peace and living. It might just take alittle effort.

Leave a Reply

Categories

