Posted by: nmontague | March 17, 2011

Thoughts on non-violence

Non-violence is the principle I’ve been trying to work on this week on my virtue rotation. To help impliment it more in my life, I’ve been trying to eliminate violent media from my life for the week. I’ve also been avoiding violent books, comic books, video games, anything with violence involved. It’s been an interesting experiment so far. I’ve realized I have alot of violence on my thoughts, much more than I realized. Mostly just thinking of fighting. Not actually doing anything. But often I find that i keep myself entertained with thoughts of some sort of fight I’ve seen on tv or created in my head. I don’t think I’ve ever realized the amount of violence Ive surounded myself with. I checked Netflix and found that most of my movies were martial arts or violent movies. I don’t really like that.

Needless to say, recognizing this has been an eye opener. I realized that I need to discipline my mind more. I need to be more careful with what I care to watch. It hasnt been as difficult to eliminate violent media as I thought it would be. I thought I’d have more of a desire for it, but I really don’t as much. After the earlier mentioned Netflix revelation, I added some more non-violent media to my movies. I find that many of them are more education. I feel a stronger desire to find uplifting and edifying media to watch and listen to.

I’ve been asking myself alot of questions about non-violence. Much of it is, to what extent do I take it? I mean doing it for a week right now is one thing. but would it be something that should be applied all my life? Should I abandon all the media in my life even though I do enjoy it sometimes? Is there a time when violence is appropriate? My inclination is to desire to discipline myself to turn the other cheek. To embrace non-violence. But there is the practical side of me who thinks that there are times where it’s appropriate and where even God has commanded men to defend themselves with the use of force.

What’s the difference between non-violence and cowardice?

I don’t know that I have many insights in this right now. Mostly questions on this post. I am currently playing 10 questions for the Dalai Lama. Different then my usual media, but I think I am going to watch more things that are edifying like this. I don’t know if Ill swear off all violent media. But i think perhaps cleansing myself of it to some degree might be wise.  Maybe some of you have some ideas on the subject?

Leave a Reply

Categories

